Singapore Disability Sports Awards 2023

About the Singapore Disability Sports Awards

The Singapore Disability Sports Awards (SDSA) was brought back in 2019, after the last Sports Awards had been held more than a decade ago in 2008. The only other time that the achievements of the para sports community were recognised was in 2014, when SDSC had given out a set of Outstanding and Meritorious Achievement awards as part of its 40th anniversary.

With the commitment made in 2019 to continue holding the SDSA every year, SDSC remains committed to celebrating the achievements of the wider para sports community. This will allow us to recognise the efforts of the support system of coaches, volunteers and partners, and provide an opportunity to celebrate moments from the past year. In doing so, we hope the stories will inspire greater awareness for para sports and inspire other persons with disabilities (PWDs) to be open to the idea of participating in sports

  • Relive the electrifying moments of SDSA 2023 through our exhilarating gallery here.
  • Dive deeper into the thrill of the SDSA Awards 2023 by reading it here.
Nomination Period
(Deadline: 12 October 2023 , 5pm)
  1. Fill in the nomination form online: 
  2. Submit the form online by Friday, 6 October 2023, 12pm
Info Pack: To find out more on the nomination process, please click here for the info pack.

By completing and submitting this nomination form, nominators and institutional coordinators agree that the information provided is accurate, and that the individuals whose personal data is enclosed have been informed and have consented to providing their data for SDSC’s purpose of selecting and promoting awardees via various marketing platforms, including social media.

Award Categories
  1. Nominees must:
    • have a clean disciplinary history in sports
    • not have on-going investigations of their conduct or activities
    • be in good standing with SDSC and their member organisations (if applicable)
  2. All achievements, sports results, activities, programmes and initiatives must have been achieved or carried out between 1 April 2022 and 31 March 2023. Results outside of this window may only be included for a Coach (Developmental) nomination, to demonstrate a progression in athlete performance and eventual achievement at an international or national competition that took place between 1 April 2022 and 31 March 2023.
  3. Nominees can be nominated for more than one award. Separate forms are to be submitted for each nomination.
To find out more on the nomination process, please click here for the info pack.


Awards2019 Winners2020 Winners2021 Winners2022 Winners2023
Sportsman of the YearMuhammad Diroy Bin NoordinEric Foo Ming DeSteve Tee & ACP Ang Kee Meng (Cycling)Toh Wei Soong (Para Swimming)Toh Wei Soong (Para Swimming)
Sportswoman of the YearYip Pin XiuNur Syahidah AlimYip Pin Xiu (Swimming)Yip Pin Xiu (Para Swimming)Yip Pin Xiu (Para Swimming)
Team of the YearBoccia BC3 Pairs
  1. Lim Yu Fei, Faye
  2. Nurulasyiqah Binte Mohammad Taha
  3. Toh Sze Ning
Athlete Competition Partners:
  1. Chew Zi Qun
  2. Lim Boon Ghee
  3. Nur Azizah Binti Ahmad Rumzi
Tenpin Bowling Pairs:
  1. Eric Foo Ming De
  2. Muhammad Farhan Bin Ismail
Women's Goalball Team:
  1. Norliana Bte Mohamed Ajam
  2. Inez Hung Huimin
  3. Joan Hung Huixin
  4. Christina Aw Peiwen
Boccia BC3 Pairs (Aloysius Gan Kai Hong & Yan Jia Yi ; ACPs: Gan Keng Aik & Lanny Kwok)Boccia BC3 Pairs (Aloysius Gan & Toh Sze Ning; Competition Partners: Kagan Gan & Chew Zi Qun)
Sportsboy of the Year Toh Wei Soong Toh Wei SoongAloysius Gan Kai Hong & ACP Gan Keng Aik (Boccia)Colin Soon (Para Swimming)Wong Zhi Wei (Para Swimming)
Sportsgirl of the YearMaisarah Binte Mohamed Hassan N.A.Lim Yu Fei Faye & ACP Lim Boon Ghee ⁣(Boccia)Siti Nurhayati (Para Athletics)Adelia Naomi Yokoyama (Para Bowler)
Coach of the Year (High Performance) Alex Ang Yock Seng (Swimming)Pang Qing LiangMark Chay Jung Jun⁣ (Swimming)Mark Chay Jung Jun⁣ (Para Swimming)William Woo Nam Fatt (Para Bowler)
Coach of the Year (Developmental)Hansen Bay (Goalball)Muhammad Abdul Razak Bin MansorHansen Bay (Goalball)Roland Tan (Para Swimming)Goh Chyuan (Para Table Tennis)
Community Impact Award (Volunteering) Choh Ssu Yee WendyserendipETNigel Goh (Powerlifting)Mariette OngYeo Jia Chyang (Special Olympics Singapore)
Community Impact Award (Events & Initiatives) Amputee Support Group
Cerebral Palsy Alliance Singapore
Goalball Singapore⁣⁣RDARun for Inclusion 2022 (RunningHour)
Coach (Community) of the Year----Lanny Kwok (Boccia)
Spirit of Sport (Male)----Dexter Goh Thean Tye (Wheelchair Basketball)
Spirit of Sport (Female)----Nurulasyiqah Bte Mohd Taha (Boccia)
Spirit of Sport (Team)----Singapore Rollers (Powerchair Football)
Community Changemaker of the Year----PlayBuddy
Past Editions

SDSA 2022  celebrated the achievements and contributions from our community throughout FY2021/2022, spanning from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2022.

The event unfolded at the Park Royal on Beach Road, hosting to a gathering of approximately 150 people.

  • Relive the electrifying moments of SDSA 2022 through our gallery here.
  • Dive deeper into the thrill of the SDSA Awards 2022 by reading it here.
  • Download the E-Booklet for the Singapore Disability Sports Awards presented by Haw Par Corporation for the year 2020 here.
  • Public voting via Facebook was introduced for the Contributor Category for SDSA 2020. View the full list of nominees at SDSC’s Facebook page here.

View our Facebook photo album from SDSA 2019 here.


Text Size